[SOLVED] GDB Waiting for connection ...

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• [SOLVED] GDB Waiting for connection ...

I'm debugging custom hardware that has a ST32GM431C8 MCU and am connected using a J-Link. My connection to the hardware is the 5-wire JTAG. When running using Keil MDK5 I have a problem in which the Keil debug windows work fine until I execute a specific version of code then the windows get trashed and I cannot debug. I was hoping to try the GDB debugger with J-Link (I'm new to GDB). When I launch either the command line program or the GUI version I get "GDB waiting for connection..."
    I was hoping that I could use the GDB command line version with J-Link to debug to see if my problem was related to the Keil environment or if I have another problem. Here is what get's displayed by GDB:

Source Code

1. Verify download: off
    2. Init regs on start: off
    3. Silent mode: off
    4. Single run mode: off
    5. Target connection timeout: 0 ms
    6. ------J-Link related settings------
    7. J-Link Host interface: USB
    8. J-Link script: none
    9. J-Link settings file: none
    10. ------Target related settings------
    11. Target device: Unspecified
    12. Target interface: JTAG
    13. Target interface speed: 4000kHz
    14. Target endian: little
    15. Connecting to J-Link...
    16. J-Link is connected.
    17. Firmware: J-Link EDU Mini V1 compiled Feb 18 2021 11:25:23
    18. Hardware: V1.00
    19. S/N: 801020066
    20. Feature(s): FlashBP, GDB
    21. Checking target voltage...
    22. Target voltage: 3.30 V
    23. Listening on TCP/IP port 2331
    24. Connecting to target...
    25. J-Link found 2 JTAG devices, Total IRLen = 9
    26. JTAG ID: 0x4BA00477 (Cortex-M4)
    27. Connected to target
    28. Waiting for GDB connection...
    Display All
    Thanks --
  • What you have sent is not the output of GDB but GDBServer.