[SOLVED] Segger Ozone problem - variables out of scope - cannot "watch" or "graph"

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• [SOLVED] Segger Ozone problem - variables out of scope - cannot "watch" or "graph"

Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new to the world of Segger but so far I'm really happy with it. There's one problem I encounter when using Segger's Ozone tool. I'd like to graph the value of a local variable but Ozone is telling me the following:

Source Code

1. Warning (4091): expression "cntr" cannot be graphed: the expression contains at least one operand with an unknown data location.

When I try to add it to the "Watched Data", the "Location" tab tells me <outofscope>.

I double checked all the operands, I'm just using ++, % and logical comparison ==, all allowed according to UM08025, p. 145. cntr is basically just a counter that resets after x iterations. This variable is local, declared and defined inside a FreeRTOS Task Function (of course outside the while(1) loop). In fact all other variables declared and defined inside this function/task are not reachable by Ozone with the same error message. What am I doing wrong?

Thank you very much in advance!
    Tom
  • Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry.
    Local variables can only be tracked while in the scope of the function where they are initialized and used.
    Outside of that scope the corresponding memory range might be used for something else by the application.
    If you want to track a variable over multiple functions declare it as static outside of the function scope.
    Then it should work.

Best regards,
    Nino
    Please read the forum rules before posting.

Keep in mind, this is *not* a support forum.
    Our engineers will try to answer your questions between their projects if possible but this can be delayed by longer periods of time.
    Should you be entitled to support you can contact us via our support system: segger.com/ticket/