[ABANDONED] iar Jlink and IAR , PC cannot find Iar Jlink

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• [ABANDONED] iar Jlink and IAR , PC cannot find Iar Jlink

Hi All, I am a newbie here, I am using a very old IAR Jlink(not segger), 2005 model I think, the s/n 00003716,
    I downloaded and installed segger Jlink software and installed it.
    1. Using windows xp sp3
    2. When I connect the jlink
    via usb to PC and run the jlink utility it cannot find the Jlink on the USB port

I also tried jlink
    configurator…sees nothing

3. Installed IAR followed the settings for project options and still cannot communicate to the Jlink
    4, if I remove the USB cable while jlink runs I get "out of synch" messages
    5. Installed Atollic and choose IAR jlink, atollic also canoot find IAR jlink

Please any ideas? see screenshot attached

Thanks
    Arnold
    Images
    • Screenshot.jpg

200.59 kB, 986×567, viewed 383 times
  • hi All

In addition, I see the Jlink driver in the windows device manager control panel
    I am using latgest IAR EW very 7.80.3
    I also downloaded the latest segger Jlink Software ver 6.12
    when I run Jlink utility it just hangs
    if I remove the usb connection while it is hanging, I get the "failed: cannot connect to Jlink via USB"

Let me know if anyone can assist please, more screenshots attached :)
    Images
    • Screenshot001.jpg

91.95 kB, 822×589, viewed 372 times
  • Hi Arnold,

I just gave it a try, and I could use old versions like a IAR KS J-Link 5.3 or a J-Link ARM 3.0 without any issue with J-Link Commander.
    Could you please give it another try with a different USB-Cable on a different USB-Port without any Hub in-between?
    If the issue persist, could you please give a try on another PC?

If the then the issue still persists, I can only assume that the J-Link is malfunctioning.
    In this case I would recommend to make use of the SEGGER Trade-In Program .