[SOLVED] Flashing ATSAMD21G18 to Internal Flash

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• [SOLVED] Flashing ATSAMD21G18 to Internal Flash

Hi Everyone,

So I'm relatively new to ARM uCs. I've played with lots of mbed boards, AVRs and PICs. Although now I'm trying to get more professional in my hobbyist life haha.

So I'm trying to flash a bootloader to a ATSAMD21G18 through my Segger J-Link EDU. I'm using Atmel Studio (also tried J-Flash Lite) and everything works perfectly... Until i un-plug the j-link. This also happened on a development I was playing with (4357-evb), but at the time I did not care, as I was just playing around.

While the J-Link is still plugged in my bootloader works fine. A have my LED flashing, telling me that the program is working fine. But when I un-plug the j-link everything stops works (as if the flash was empty).

I'm sure I'm doing something wrong. Is there something extra I have to buy, to be able to physically write to the uC internal flash?

Thanks Everyone,

Sam
    Images
    • J-Link.png

38.64 kB, 762×603, viewed 709 times
  • Hi Sam,

sounds strange to me....
    You are sure that your target board is not powered by the J-Link and that are writing to Flash, not RAM?

Best regards,
    Niklas
    Please read the forum rules before posting.

Keep in mind, this is *not* a support forum.
    Our engineers will try to answer your questions between their projects if possible but this can be delayed by longer periods of time.
    Should you be entitled to support you can contact us via our support system: segger.com/ticket/

Or you can contact us via e-mail.
  • Hi,

I'm powering the board by an external power supply (commoned to the J-Link common).

From the screen shot attached and as far as I can see I'm programming to flash not ram (how can i double check?). I've tried your J-Flash lite program and same results.

Any idea where to go next?