STM32H7 & emWin

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• STM32H7 & emWin

Hi,

I am new to emWin and I'd like to have some information.

1) Do we need external SDRAM for frame buffer? if, yes how to calculate the size required?

2) I found a bit difficult to understand what functions should be implemented by the user. I am using a 10.1" display with RGB interface. I will use the LTDC module in ST.
    Is there a file showing user's functions that need to be implemented?

3) Is there a diagram showing how the emWin lib is working? like init functions, periodic functions and callbacks?

Thanks for your help :) .

A.
  • Hi,
    1) Do we need external SDRAM for frame buffer? if, yes how to calculate the size required?
    In general you don't need the external SDRAM. But if you want to use a large display you don't have another choice because you have to place the framebuffer somewhere in almost any case the internal RAM is not large enough.

For the framebuffer you can calculate the memory requirements as follows:

Pixel in x * Pixel in y * bytes per pixel * number of buffers * number of layers

Further you might want to place the GUI memory (a memory block dedicated to emWin where it can allocate memory from. This is independent of the framebuffer) int othe external RAM. This will allow you to allocate far more memory for emWin. Although, even 100K of memory can be enough depending on the application.

Number of buffer is the amount of buffers used for multibuffering.
    2) I found a bit difficult to understand what functions should be
    implemented by the user. I am using a 10.1" display with RGB interface. I
    will use the LTDC module in ST.

Is there a file showing user's functions that need to be implemented?
    You have to initialize the LTDC and configure it to fit to your display. Of course, this includes the any other hardware which is required to drive the LCD (e.g. GPIOs).