[SOLVED] Are there SystemView APIs when creating custom desktop GUI applications?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• [SOLVED] Are there SystemView APIs when creating custom desktop GUI applications?

Hi, I'm Matthew. I use Nordic's PCA10040 (nRF-52 dev kit which has SEGGER's J-Link), and SES 3.

I'm new to the SystemView so my idea might sound weird.

Most of the time, people use UART/RS232 serial communication; a USB-UART converter to log or plot data.

Using Qt5, the cross-platform GUI application framework, I wanted to draw a graph or a line chart after receiving data.

[img]https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/images/examples_chartthemes_light.png[/img]

However, each desktop OS required OS specific serial libraries. So I thought I can replace the UART serial communication to the SystemView.

In other words, I want to replace the UART module

and I want to create a cross-platform GUI desktop application, which is quite similar to the current SystemView, to plot data.

I use the PyQt5 (based on Python 3) and the Qt creator (based on C++).

Are there SystemView APIs or libraries available for Windows/Ubuntu 16/MacOS machines?

It would be great to read data with the J-Link and plot them on my GUI app.

-Regards, Matthew
    -Best Regards, Matthew

The post was edited 1 time, last by MatthewKyeo ().

• Hello Matthew,

Thank you for your inquiry.
    Systemview is based on SEGGER's RTT rechnology: segger.com/products/debug-prob…about-real-time-transfer/

So if you want to replace UART with "what Systemview" is using then this is what you want to use.
    Sources are available on the website.

If you want to use something like J-Scope that relies on high speed sampling (HSS) then you will need to purchase a J-Link SDK for your company:
    segger.com/products/debug-probes/j-link/tools/j-scope/

Best regards,
    Nino
    Please read the forum rules before posting.

Keep in mind, this is *not* a support forum.