Have to import cpp files to run code

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Have to import cpp files to run code

Hi,
    I am new to Segger Embedded Studio and have a problem. I am trying to make a lcd library which contains of a .cpp-file and a .h-file. When I include only lcd.h in main.cpp it can´t compile. (Receive: undefined reference to `LCD::init(unsigned char)' error). But when I include lcd.cpp also, everything work fine. I think it is only a setting to also compile cpp files, but I cant find it.

Im using gcc with NRF52832 devkit.

lcd.h:

C Source Code

1. #ifndef LCD_H_
    2. #define LCD_H_
    3. #include <stdint.h>
    4. #include <stdbool.h>
    5. class LCD
    6. {
    7. public:
    8. void init(uint8_t pin1);
    9. };
    10. #endif
    Display All

lcd.cpp:

Source Code

1. #include "lcd.h"
    2. void LCD::init(uint8_t pin1)
    3. {
    4. pin1 = 1;
    5. }

main.cpp:

Source Code

1. #include "lcd.h"
    2. int main(void) {
    3. uint8_t pin1 = 26;
    4. LCD lcd;
    5. lcd.init(pin1);
    6. while (1);
    7. return 0;
    8. }
  • Hello Øyvind,

Thank you for your inquiry.

The lcd.cpp file must be part of your project. Otherwise the linker can't find the functions that are referenced.
    So simply add it by e.g. drag and drop to your project tree.

Best regards,
    Nino
    Please read the forum rules before posting.

Keep in mind, this is *not* a support forum.
    Our engineers will try to answer your questions between their projects if possible but this can be delayed by longer periods of time.
    Should you be entitled to support you can contact us via our support system: segger.com/ticket/

Or you can contact us via e-mail.
  • Thank you Nino.
    It sounds strange to do it this way but its ok.