Displaying changing transparant text

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Displaying changing transparant text

Hello,

I am new to Emwin, I am trying to display a transparent changing value so you can see the bitmap background through it.
    I am using SetTextMode(GUI_TM_TRANS), the first value is displayed ok but when subsequent values are displayed the last value is not cleared so you end up with a filled in square. Any one know what is the way round this ? I am sure their may many uses for displaying transparent changing text on a fixed background.

fifo :wacko:
  • Hi,

Attached is an example on how to display semi transparent strings. A timer changes periodically the value for the alpha channel of a color. This color is used to draw display string. In the background a bitmap gets drawn.

If you display a string with a function like GUI_DispString() the background of the string to be displayed is solid per default. To get a transparent background you can call GUI_SetTextMode(GUI_TM_TRANS). This removes only the background color.

To get a semi transparent string try this:

C Source Code

1. GUI_SetTextMode(GUI_TM_TRANS);
    2. GUI_EnableAlpha(1);
    3. GUI_SetColor(Color);
    4. GUI_DispString("TRANSPARENCY");
    5. GUI_EnableAlpha(0);

EDIT: Added atachment

Regards,
    Sven
    Files
    Please read the forum rules before posting.

Keep in mind, this is *not* a support forum.
    Our engineers will try to answer your questions between their projects if possible but this can be delayed by longer periods of time.
    Should you be entitled to support you can contact us via our support system: segger.com/ticket/

Or you can contact us via e-mail.
  • Thanks for the response but this does not work for text that is constantly changing such as displaying a value
    I have tried the following code which is run repeatedly to display a temperature value but still end up with filled in squares.