Virtual Screens: Can't paint dialog window before changing origin

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Virtual Screens: Can't paint dialog window before changing origin

My understanding is that the whole point of virtual screens is to hide the painting process from the user.

The problem is, I can't figure out how to paint my dialog box to the virtual screen area BEFORE switching to that screen (with GUI_SetOrg()). It seems that the window manager is not painting because the area is not visible. The only way I can get it to paint is by setting the origin to the new v-screen FIRST, then creating the dialog box. After the first painting operation, I can switch between screens instantly, but the first painting operation is visible. Obviously, this allows the user to see the window being painted, which is extremely undesirable.

I studied the example, VSCREEN_MultiPage, and indeed, this is how it works also (GUI_SetOrg, then GUI_CreateDialogBox). When I run the example; sure enough, I can see the windows get painted.

1) Is this the expected behavior?
    2) Is there a way to make emWin paint the dialog box in a virtual screen area BEFORE changing the origin, so the painting operation is not apparent to the user?

Thank you!
  • Hi,

Actually it should work as you expect. I don't know your code so I can't really say why it is not working as expected.

But, if you want to use virtual screens to hide a drawing process or avoid flickering you should use multibuffering. This is easier to handle, espacially in combination with the Window Manager.

Multibuffering works only with the GUIDRV_Lin driver. If you are using a driver for an indirect connected LCD controller (like GUIDRV_FlexColor) you should use a cached version of this driver. Cached or not cached is indicated by the number behind the 'C':

GUIDRV_FLEXCOLOR_M16C0B8 -> uncached
    GUIDRV_FLEXCOLOR_M16C1B8 -> cached

Regards,
    Sven