[SOLVED] i.MX 6 Flash loading

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• [SOLVED] i.MX 6 Flash loading

I'm planning to use a J-Link and JFlash to load code into Flash. I'm a bit new to this so I have a few questions:
    • Does the JLink support the i.MX 6 Solo and Serial (SPI) NOR Flash loading natively? What tools/knowledge will I need to get this done?
    • Can I get Flash loading with the J-Link to work with Eclipse? I've managed to load the code into RAM this way but my IDE doesn't give me another option.
    • I haven't picked the make of the flash chip yet, will the choice of manufacturer matter in the loading process? Is there any type of NOR Flash not supported?
    • What kind of executable files are needed to load the code into flash? HEX? ELF?
    For reference purposes I'm using Windows and my IDE is Atollic TrueStudio. I'm not planning to use an OS on the project, just a simple task manager.
    Thanks for your help.
  • Hi,

Does the JLink support the i.MX 6 Solo and Serial (SPI) NOR Flash loading natively? What tools/knowledge will I need to get this done?

Could you please provide me with the exact device name? i.MX 6 devices are supported by the J-Link software (segger.com/jlink_supported_devices.html?m=Freescale#sel), but afaik there exist some Cortex-A7 based i.MX 6 devices that are not supported yet.

Do you want to program the SPI Flash
    a) directly (J-Link <--SPI--> SPI Flash) (More Info) or
    b) via the target MCU (J-Link <---JTAG/SWD---> i.MX 6 <-------> SPI Flash)
    If you want to program it via the MCU, is the SPI flash memory-mapped available?
    Can I get Flash loading with the J-Link to work with Eclipse? I've managed to load the code into RAM this way but my IDE doesn't give me another option.

Among other IDEs, Atollic True Studio comes with native J-Link support.