[SOLVED] J-Link Debugger crashes when loading GHS .elf file

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• [SOLVED] J-Link Debugger crashes when loading GHS .elf file

Hello,

I am trying to use J-Link Debugger V1.78 with an .elf file generated using Green Hills compiler suite(GHS).
    When using the New Project Wizard, after selecting the .elf file, the program crashes. I am able to load an .elf file generated with GCC, so I believe there is an error with the .elf format generated by GHS.

I have found a topic which I think describes a similar problem, stating that some compiler .elfs are not supported:
    [SOLVED] JScope crashes

Is this compiler output not supported?
    I would appreciate any advice and I am sorry if this is an inappropriate questions(I am a beginner with these tools).

Thank you,
    Marius
  • Hello Marius,

thanks for your inquiry. Would it be possible to provide us an elf file and / or the project (or another project) for reproduction purposes?
    If you do not want to post it here, you can send me a download link via Personal Message, or we can continue this conversation via mail.

Best regards,
    Niklas
    Please read the forum rules before posting.

Keep in mind, this is *not* a support forum.
    Our engineers will try to answer your questions between their projects if possible but this can be delayed by longer periods of time.
    Should you be entitled to support you can contact us via our support system: segger.com/ticket/

Or you can contact us via e-mail.
  • Hi,

Thanks for providing the ELF file.
    We can reproduce the problem and will fix it in the J-Link Debugger.

- Alex

Our engineers will try to answer your questions between their projects if possible but this can be delayed by longer periods of time.
    Should you be entitled to support you can contact us via our support system: segger.com/ticket/

• Hi,

We have added a preliminary fix for this.